2012 Puzzle Design Competition


  • 80 puzzles entered; the 2012 Competition Entries page includes images, descriptions, (solutions and purchasing information later).
  • Judging at IPP32 in Washington DC, August 9-12, 20121.
  • The Puzzlers' Award selected by IPP attendees; all other prizes selected by Judging Committee. Click on images below for more information.

2012 Prize Winners

Puzzlers' Award

Square in the Bag
Iwahiro (Hirokazu Iwasawa)

Jury Grand Prize

Double G
Jinhoo Ahn

Jury Grand Prize

Andras Zagyvai

Jury First Prize

Ferris' Box
Peter Wiltshire

Houdini's Torture Chamber
Brian Young

Jury Honorable Mention

Heptagon 48
Koshi Arai

RotoPrism 2
David Pitcher

Top 10 Vote Getters

The following designs were in the top-10 in voting for the Puzzlers' Award,
but were not otherwise recognized with a formal Jury prize.

Blind Burr - Gregory Benedetti
The "Locked Room Mystery" - Simon Nightingale
The Vault - Mike Toulouzas

Ze House of Mouse Ze Duong - Stephen Chin


© 2001-2012 by