2017 Puzzle Design Competition


  • 66 puzzles entered; the 2017 Competition Entries page includes designers, goal, images, and purchasing information.
  • Judging at IPP37 in Paris, France, August 3-6, 2017.
  • The Puzzlers' Award is selected by IPP attendees; all other prizes selected by Judging Committee.

Puzzlers' Award

Identical Twins
Osanori Yamamoto

Identical Twins

Jury Grand Prize

Shiro Tajima

Barreled Bolt

Jury 1st Prize

Barreled Bolt
Eitan Cher and David Tzur

Barreled Bolt

No Full Pirouette!
Namick Salakhov

Jury Honorable Mention

Jerry McFarland

Free Me 5
Joe Turner

Puzzle Bracelet
Yael Friedman

In a Cage
Shiro Tajima

Top 10 Vote Getters

The following designs were in the top-10 in voting for the Puzzlers' Award,
but were not otherwise recognized with a formal Jury prize.

Tripla - Andrei Ivanov
The Rocking Horse Puzzle - Mike Toulouzas

Free the Marble - Laurence Grenier
Ruled Cube - Chirag Mehta
Tweedledum And Tweedledee - Brian Young
Moulin Rouge - Stephan Baumegger

Galette - Osanori Yamamoto


© 2001-2017 by